How can I delete my nest site, nesting attempt, or nest visit?
First, note that your data live in your account, so deleting any data from your account will also delete it in our database. Only delete this data if you are sure it is erroneous – there is no way to recover deleted data. If you simply wish to remove old or unused nest sites from your map, please use the archive option. Archiving nests saves the data in our database, but allows for a cleaner map view.
To delete a nest visit, you’ll see a red circle with a “minus” sign next to each row of data on your nesting attempt page when you’re in table entry mode. Click this red button to delete that row of data.
To delete a nesting attempt, all nest visits must first be deleted. When all nest visits have been deleted, you’ll see a red “delete attempt” button appear on the bottom right of the nesting attempt page. Alternatively, you can click the green “Nest Site List” button above the map on your data homepage and click “View Site Summary” under the correct nest site. Then, navigate to the correct nesting attempt. If there are no nest visits listed for that nesting attempt, you’ll see the option to “delete attempt” underneath the “edit attempt” button. Otherwise, click “Edit attempt” to delete the erroneous nest visits.
To delete a nest site, all nesting attempts must be first be deleted. Once all nesting data is deleted from the nest site, find the nest site listed under the green “Nest Site List” button and click “View Site Summary”. On the next page, you should see an option to “delete this site” on the top left.Return to FAQ list